Ignition Module

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignition Module

I am far from an expert on bikes, and ignitions are sumpin' I know even less about.

I am assuming(but purdy sure) that the rev limiter is in the ignition module.

Is it possible for the limiter to not operate proper and the module still work? Not sure if the tach is the problem(not reading right) or exactly when the limiter comes into play. It's a stock TC88(2000FXD) with a stock ignition system, and have run past 5500rpm, and not noticed the limiter. Last night while out "playing" I found it, but was near 6000 on the tach. I assume it's quite possible for a tach to miss-read by a couple hundred rpm, and all else is fine.

I should look into one of those shift light thingy's instead up using the limiter as a shift indicator. ;-)

Just looking for a little input and info.

One more thing. The great people at the dealer just out side Grand rapids gave me the new SE book, but not a lot left in it for my OLD bike. Anyone have a book or know the Part# for SE 6200rpm ignition module, wouldn't mind picking one up.

Thanks in advance, Glyde.
    There is a special place in our hearts... Carved out for our memories
    R.I.P. RubberDown
    R.I.P. James "Jimbo"
    Reese

Rev limiter is 5200 stock, and is integral in the Ingition module. If yours is reading 6K on the tach, and not faltering, something's wrong.....

SE pt# 32750-99 Module, 32748-99A Kit.

http://www.box.net/shared/5ga2xnqqtj

There was also a 7000 rpm Race Only version:

http://www.box.net/shared/imsp4yx7x1

On the third CAUTION, down, on the left side of the page, look where it says that "Screamin Eagle products may reduce or void your limited warranty"..... Priceless.
    Last edited by Dave63; 07-16-2010, 03:05 PM.
    **Note: The technical info I provide is suggestive. I am not a perfeshunel.