What Did I Do Wrong ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Did I Do Wrong ?

Hello all.. well first I have to give a little background. I own a big truck and haul oversize. With that I have extensive mechanical background in fixing things. Usaually what I broke. Also have alot of experience with boats and boat motors and other small engines. However, first time around on doing stuff on the harley.. OK enough of the background.. here is the problem. I have a 06 heritage softail deluxe. . About a month ago the compensater went out.. so I reserched everything . went and watched a ton of youtube repair videos and did the repair. Only thing that I added was a auto tenacher. Took my time and put everything back as the manual and videos said. Took it out and it rode nice. Except I didn't like the adjustment on the clutch. It sometimes grinds when you put it in gear. Like the clutch isn't engaging. So I thought maybe I better check my work on the adjustment. Which I did as directed. However , soon as I removed the durby cover I found this.. big gouge in the brand new gasket. I should mention that I did get a new fancy cover. But I checked and the back is the same as the stock one. I also torqued the bolts down in the order the manual showed.. so question is. What did I do wrong to make it gouge like this.. much appreciated for any help

Click image for larger version

Name:	
Views:	1
Size:	693.0 KB
ID:	1240306Click image for larger version

Name:	
Size:	642.7 KB
ID:	1240307

That's a sharp and even gouge. What did you use to remove the cover for the clutch? Did you insert insert anything to maintain the basket from turning while adjusting the clutch?

2010 FLHX - Street Glide
    HERD MEMBER #00003

Comment

No.. i just did what i seen in the videos. When I adjusted it. I turned the allen clockwise just until i felt a little tension. Then backed it off to what the manual said..

Comment