Sad journey of regret and reflection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sad journey of regret and reflection

A sad ride, last Saturday. One of reflection, regret, anger, and loss.

A pilgrimage of sorts. One of the little things I wanted to do while I still have the chance. I needed this journey, to purge my system of this lingering resentment, and of some little gesture to the fallen, virtually forgotten now.

A little background is in order. I am a graduate of Muncie (Indiana) Central High School, class of 1971. It is through the prism of these tired eyes that I recount the following.

Texas, as well as many other states, has a rich high school football tradition. But in Indiana, the Hoosier state, it was… is… and always will be basketball. From urban playgrounds to suburban driveways to the rural barnlot, there is a common Hoosier denominator- there’s a hoop and a backboard everywhere you gaze.

Nowhere in this backwater state of the union is high school basketball played better or with more fervor than my alma mater Muncie Central. Here is a measure of MCHS achievement- in the hallowed North Walnut Street Fieldhouse, there proudly hangs eight banners- more than ANY OTHER high school in the state.

Click image for larger version  Name:	2106905847_f6116dce08_z.jpg Views:	10 Size:	103.4 KB ID:	1255545

There should have been nine.

~~

Milan is a Podunk li’l town in the southeastern part of the state, pop. 1,899. No industry, no jobs, no nothing other than agriculture. Never was.

By some unbelievable string of miracles, the Milan Indians, in 1953/1954 won their sectional, regional, semi-final and found themselves in the final championship game on a blustery night on March 20, 1954. Their opponent, the mighty Muncie Central Bearcats, the state champs of two years previous. There stood little David, facing Goliath.