Big D's annual service and-- Naaaa.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big D's annual service and-- Naaaa.

I started riding motorcycles since 1969, and (co)owned a bike in 1970, as a 17 year old, with my brother. It was a Harley, too! A 125cc Italian import Harley Rapido street/trail bike. Briiing-bing bing!

Then a couple Hondas, then when my daughter was born in 1980, and somehow it seemed like the right idea to NOT ride a motorcycle. Who knows the reasons that motivated me then. Ancient history.

When I resumed riding in 2006, with buying a Superglide, one of my selling points in trying to convince my bride was my bold statement "I'll assume all the maintenance on the bike, to save money." Now, I have some history with grandiose statements such as this, but, I kept this promise to my bride on this point. When the weather closed in after that first season I was all excited about doing updates along with scheduled service, and my bride, that voice of reason, told me in no uncertain terms I'd better not ruin Christmas.

"Nope. I'll wait until New Years". Thus began my 13 consecutive years of putting the bike on the lift on or around New Years day. And after I joined Herd, I'd post this annual service here, and drone on and on, about such vital crapola as polishing aluminum nobody would ever see.

So, it's time. But here I sit.
    PFFT PFFT PFFT PFFT PFFT

2001 FXDX Superglide Sport. More horses than a feller would want

Official HERD Member #00192

"What, me worry?" Alfred E. Neuman

Ear Tag no. 00030
    MMMMOOoo"Official HERD Exalted Prime Example"...
    Do`nt need no stinking hay,We want fresh green spring grass
    If they get close enough kick em in the crotch,MMMOOOOooo
    The missing link
    http://www.shovelhead.us/

Comment

So, anyway, here I sit. Having been gutted like a fish a couple weeks ago, and STILL with something like a Bic pen stuck in a very tender, embarrassing place. (This is out Tuesday the 7th.)

OK, here she sits.